BLOG TOUR: REVIEW – “Not the One” by Amy Daws

 photo Banner.png

 photo Cover 1_5.jpg

connected

 

~Not The One is Full Length Standalone Adult Romance~

 

My name is Reyna Miracle.
Even though a part of my name is Miracle, there’s nothing miraculous about me.
My body portrays the tales of my life.
Every feeling, every heartbreak, every emotion.
Marked. Inked. Stained.
A walking canvas of my messed up truth.

 

But there’s one confession I can’t put in a tattoo.
A confession that will kill me to tell, but my best friend died before I had the chance.

 

Now I’m left with him.
The only one who can hold me in the night and squeeze that spot on my neck that feels like my lifeline between sanity and chaos.

 

But we don’t work together.
We’re absolute poison for each other.
We’re a stifling, suffocating, sickness of darkness.

 

But I feel safe…because I’ve made an art of pushing people away.

 

Now he’s pushing back…
And making me believe…
Making me wonder…
Maybe, just maybe…
I could be the one.

goodreads

andra's review

 photo Teaser 3_1.jpg

I don’t usually read series out of order but once I caught a glimpse of this book’s blurb I knew I had to read it. I’m always looking for a flawed heroine, because as we know there aren’t many of those in the romance world. The most important thing  is that I didn’t feel like I needed to read the previous books to connect with this story, although I have a feeling most of the characters I’ve met are the protagonists of said books. But one thing is for sure – I’m hooked and I’m excited to start book 1 soon.

Told in first person POV in a perfect weaving of past and present, Not the One follows Reyna Miller, a jaded girl in more ways than one. After having experienced loss most of her life, she feels like she’s being punished every day for a thing that was out of her control. Bearing the middle name Miracle, Reyna is putting a constant fight in order to leave behind that part of her being. She wants to prove to everyone that she’s not worthy of that name, that she’s not worthy of love and appreciation.

Liam on the other hand is one of the good ones. He’s the lovable boy next door, her old college friend, the one who’s loved her for the past three years, waiting to be with her again. The way he behaved around her, showed me a hero who’s not afraid to show his emotions, and wears his heart on his sleeve even if that means someone like Reyna might step all over it.
 photo Untitled.jpg

Their connection was felt all throughout the book, even in the darkest of times, I still wanted them to be together because, for me, Liam was her anchor. Without him she would still be wondering through life without a goal. They complement each other quite well: the rebel girl and the sweet lovable geek.

One character that intrigued more than anything was Hayden. He is Reyna’s friend, and the brother of her deceased BFF. Together they’re on a self destructing path, a path that Reyna was lucky to leave behind with the help of Liam.

I was captivated by this story from the get go. The way the author constructed the plot was intriguing; I couldn’t read fast enough to get to the ‘past’ chapters and see what had happened that made Reyna the person she is today. Not the One had a great combination of angst and light moments. Those comedic moments were well needed and they were provided by one of the funniest characters I’ve read: Frank.

The only down side for me was the way Reyna was a bit too melodramatic even for my tastes. She everyone around her badly, especially her mother and I just though the way she was forgiven for all the pain she’s caused them was too easily brushed under the rug. I felt for her and I tried to understand her actions, but I would’ve liked to see her actually grovel a little bit more before she was given another chance. 

 photo ijh.jpg

All in all, Not the One is a wonderful 4 star  book, with an a broken heroine, and a hero who won’t stop at nothing to fix the one he loves. It’s a story about second chances, and reconnecting with that one person who makes your entire world sparkle just by being part of it. 

***ARC received from the author through SB Promotions in exchange for an honest review***

yellow 4 star

1-click

amazon-kindle barnes-and-noble ibooks kobo

excerpt1

“Christ, I hardly recognized you,” he seethes, the angry bulge in his jaw bone ticking violently. He grabs my arm firmly and pulls me off the concrete steps and into a covered archway away from all the other happy students. “What the fuck, Rey?”

“What are you talking about?” I ask in utter confusion.

He reaches beneath my chin, grabs the zipper and yanks it down harshly. I shove his hands away as my robe is yanked open.

“Fuck, Rey! You’re skin and bones!” Liam’s face is tortured and sickly. Dark circles reside under his eyes but he still looks gorgeous as ever.

“Don’t be ridiculous.” Grabbing the edges of my robe, I cover myself back up, protectively. I’m wearing a short blue shift dress that used to hug every one of my curves but now hangs on me like a potato sack. I know I’ve lost some weight since Marisa but I’m not about to let him scold me like a child over it. “I’m a twenty-five-year-old adult, Liam. I don’t need you chastising me over this.”

“Rey,” he says my name on a sigh. “How can you expect me to ignore this?” His eyes are pleading and pained as they flash between my eyes and my mouth in utter agony.

“I’m not your concern!” I push back my dark hair and squeeze the back of my neck to try to gain some of my control back.

“You made that perfectly clear when you shoved me out of your dorm room. Fuck. How did we get this so utterly wrong?”

“Just leave it, Liam.”

“No.” He grabs my shoulders and turns me to face him. “Don’t you miss me? At all? I miss you like crazy. I feel like I’m mourning two deaths instead of one. It’s like you died on me two weeks ago. And now I see you today and it makes me sick to my stomach that I’ve left you the way I did!” His eyes are shimmering with tears and pain, only adding to the self-loathing I’ve developed the past fourteen days.

My eyes are dead and cold, my voice flat and unaffected. “I told you I wanted nothing to do with you, Liam. I meant it.”

“You’re lying to me. Again!” he roars, angrily punching the concrete wall beside my head.

connected logo2

meet the author
 photo Author_10.jpg

Amy Daws is a commercial producer and lives in South Dakota with her husband and daughter. The long-awaited birth of Lorelei is what inspired her passion for writing. Amy is a lover of all things British and her award-nominated romantic comedy series, The London Lovers Series, is centered around Americans in London. It’s emotional and self-deprecating with lots of humor sprinkled in. On most nights, you can find Amy and her family dancing to Strawberry Shortcake’s theme song or stuffing themselves inside children’s-sized playhouses because there is nothing they wouldn’t do for their little miracle.

FACEBOOKTWITTERWEBSITEGOODREADS

giveaway1

$20 Amazon gift card
Amy Daws – Not The One – Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

