Risking Ruin by Mae Wood – Review

syn

Marisa Tanner’s most important client, multi-billion dollar family-owned Brannon Company, has been sued by nine of its employees for sexual harassment. Marisa is a pro at handling sexual harassment allegations, but will she be able to handle the CEO’s prodigal son as well as she can handle the lawsuits?
Clients are off-limits and Marisa could lose her law license and livelihood, but Memphis playboy Trip keeps making strong plays for her.

Their attraction is undeniable and chemistry electric. Can she have her career and Trip, too, or will she have to choose?

A steamy debut by Mae Wood, “Risking Ruin” is a stand alone novel that blends the styles of chick-lit and contemporary romance to create a landscape filled with strong characters in the lush environment of Memphis, Tennessee.
Now includes bonus sneak peek of Borrowing Trouble, available on Kindle and in paperback August 2015.

review

Risking Ruin is a witty, well written and engaging book. I really enjoyed many aspects of the story and it maintained my interest enough to keep me reading, although I will admit to struggling a little during the middle section of the book.
I liked both the H and h and found the inclusion of the daily workings of an employment lawyer really interesting.

My rating would be 3.5 stars. I wanted a little more intrigue/plot and fewer descriptions of foods/drinks/shoes/branded goods etc. Some readers may like the inclusion of these details but I’m all about story and this distracted me from it. A really promising debut and I look forward to reading more in book 2 – Borrowing Trouble.

3.5

 

andra

Risking Ruin is a book reminiscent of Julie James whom I love. And just like JJ, Mae Wood is a  lawyer herself and this was seen throughout the book – all the job aspects were well documented/ researched  and that is something I appreciate in my books. 

The book follows Marisa Tanner, a Memphis lawyer for the rich. She’s one of the best there are at her job and one of her most prolific clients is the Brannon Company – they are a magnet for sexual harassment cases, the latest involving her mentor John, who just so happens to be General Counsel at Branco. And this is why John is forced in taking an early retirement and Marisa is introduced to the company’s new General Counsel who just so happens to be the boss’s son, Trip Brannon.

Both Marisa and Trip are wonderful characters; Marisa is an independent woman, who has set her sights at being the best at everything she’s doing and for her failure is not an option. She has never broken an oath till she had met Trip. She knows their ‘office romance’ is forbidden, but she can’t deny her feelings. And it’s definitely hard to say no to someone like Trip. He’s an incredible man; he understands her struggle and promises to behave – which he does – their non-sex is some of the best I’ve read. He’s always there when she needs him and she does the same for him. Their relationship is based on mutual respect and I loved that.  The interactions between the protagonists were wonderful – they’re sweet, fun and sensual when needed, and cordial and respectful when the job calls. 

I have to take a minute and talk about the secondary characters – they did make the book interesting – seeing Marisa behavior outside of work was interesting – the banter with her BFF and parents made me love her even more. The same goes for Trip as well – although we don’t get his POV, we get to meet his best friends and we get a little insight on how those guys nights out might work.

Apart from the romance aspect, the book has a bit of a suspense/intrigue element. Did John or didn’t he commit everything he’s accused of. I liked reading about that, but I wish I it was even more developed. Although well researched it felt a bit rushed.

I did enjoy this story very much but I do have some of problems with it. Mae Wood did a great job at catching my interest and making me like the characters, but there were several parts that I felt I could do without – the food/drink/clothes descriptions and the brand name dropping just felt to overtake certain paragraphs of the book and at times I had to remind myself not to skim them.

All in all, this is a GREAT debut novel – my rating would be at around a 3.75 stars – it’s fun and witty, it has amazing protagonists and an interesting plot. I’m very excited to read the follow up to Marisa and Trip’s story in Borrowing Trouble and see where Mae Wood will take this story next.

3.5 gray

1-cli

AMAZON
AMAZON UK

meet a

Mae Wood is a mommy, bookworm, and lawyer (in that order).
A while ago Mae decided that she needed to give up the fear that she couldn’t write “great literature” and write what she wants to read.
And she want romance. And laughter.
She wants heroines who are brave. Brave enough to be themselves and brave enough to fall in love.
She wants men who are strong and kind.
Mae lives in the Southeastern United States and sets her books in hot and steamy Memphis, Tennessee.

FACEBOOK │ TWITTER │ GOODREADS │ BLOG

One thought on “Risking Ruin by Mae Wood – Review

  1. Pingback: BORROWING TROUBLE by MAE WOOD – REVIEW |

Leave a Reply

