Nineteen by E. S. Carter – Review

syn

Your life can change in the blink of an eye. How you adapt to these changes is what defines you. Jake Fox is an aspiring actor who has found little success. He is also a typical, cliche, bad boy, who ‘loves them and leaves them’ without love ever coming into the equation. Emma Campbell is finding her way in life, struggling with memories from her past, an apathetic mother and the choices ahead of her. Can she keep focused on the light when life keeps surrounding her in darkness? Polar opposites, will love be the thread that binds them or will circumstances beyond their control, tear them apart?

*Suitable for readers Age 18+ due to some disturbing scenes and sexual content*

andra

“. . . Follow the wind wherever it takes you and discover yourself and who you want to be . . .”

I’ve had this book on my TBR since I’ve first heard about it a few months ago, and after I saw the cover I knew I had to read it – I’m a sucker for a good cover. Now with the approaching release of the next book in the series, I decided it’s finally its time. And I’m so HAPPY I read it. Nineteen is a great first book by a new indie author – good writing, intriguing plot, wonderful characters and incredibly vivid descriptions. Although it has the classic elements of a New Adult Contemporary Romance, E.S. Carter was able to steer this book in a totally different direction, hence making it a ‘hard to put down book’.

On one hand, we have Jake, the playboy hero who lo and behold, doesn’t have a tragically dark past – he’s just a fun loving, late twenties guy with only one thing on his mind: making it into the movie industry and collecting as many women as he can along the way. On the other hand, there’s Emma – a sweet, innocent girl with a bit of a gloomy past who’s trying to live her life hidden in her own little bubble.

Then one night, a chance encounter and their lives are forever changed.

Jake and Emma’s relationship isn’t forced, it’s a slow build to the grand finale, and along the way we constantly wonder if they’ll ever find the way back to each other.

I love the author’s capability to humanize these two protagonists – they are just two regular people who happen to be the main characters in a romance novel; there’s nothing surreal about them. Another thing I liked was the entire supporting cast – you can’t help but fall in love with Jake’s brothers and best friend Harry aka H *all of whom, fingers crossed, might get books* and with Emma’s mystery friend Liam and BFF Liv. All of these secondary characters play key roles in the characters’ development and it’s impossible not to be captivated by them . Let me talk about how original the setting of the book is. The story starts off in London, then moves to France and Italy before ending in Ibiza, Spain. I appreciate the author staying true to her European roots and using places close to her for the characters to explore. But at the end of the day, E.S. Carter’s brilliant writing is what made me love this book so much. From the British English lingo to the picturesque descriptions of every place mentioned to the attention to details, you can tell that the author did her research and did it well.

4.5 ‘Foxy’ Stars

**Can’t wait to get my hands on Twenty One later this week and devour the rest of this story. ❤

PicMonkey Collage grey

1-cli

AMAZON

AMAZON UK

meet a

Avid reader and mother of 3, I previously worked in human resource management prior to becoming a stay at home carer and advocate for families of children with special needs. I have been writing since childhood, the bookworm gene an abnormal manifestation as no-one else in my family is obsessed with books. I’m happy to say I have passed this gene on to my youngest child who has been devouring books since the very day she could hold one in her hand 🙂 My debut novel ‘Nineteen’ was released on April 24th 2015, I hope you enjoy it! Please feel free to get in touch, I would love to hear from you ♥

FACEBOOK                                     TWITTER                              PINTEREST

         GOODREADS

One thought on “Nineteen by E. S. Carter – Review

  1. Pingback: COVER REVEAL – “Three” by E. S. Carter |

Leave a Reply

